free website stats program Drinking and Riding,,do you? | Harley Davidson Forums

Drinking and Riding,,do you?

dogdad

I am new to the riding thing and made a promise to myself before I bought my bike ,I wouldn't drink alcohol while riding my bike. I will keep this promise for many reasons.
Every Wednesday here in the New Orleans area , there are a lot of places that have the "bike nights". At one of the more popular spots, there are as many as 1200 bikes parked in many lines,,all close together. I see so much drinking and it just makes me wonder when someone will make the mistake of dropping their bike or just hitting another bike, creating the "domino effect". I have seen bikes bumped..and I have seen bikes dropped because of gravel,,just wasn't next to someone else's bike (wow)..
I don't drive my bike to these bike night events because of the above, and yes it takes some fun out of it,, but then again I don't have to worry either about the other bike next to me. So do you drink when riding?

I made a promise to myself and my wife that there'd be no drinking and riding.

In my younger days it was different.

The buddy I bought my Heritage from worked with me for over 20 yrs and lost his lisence and job over drinking and driving. He decided to sell the Heritage because the guys he ran with all drink and ride and it was too much of a temptation.

In todays environment, with all you stand to lose, Anyone who drinks and rides/drives is a fool. Your life can change in less time than it is taking me to type this and the possibility exists that you could lose your life, or take someone elses.
A few drinks is not worth taking that chance.
Just my opinion, and worth what ya paid for it!