free website stats program Old people in cages | Harley Davidson Forums

Old people in cages

fatbryan

Ok by old i mean in thier 70;s, it was a beautiful day out so i went for a ride. Going down one of our major streets here in town, a very old couple pull right out in front of me, luckly i was paying attention because they wasnt, and no i didnt yell at them they probbly couldnt hear me anyways. Then i come to a place where they were cutting trees down, one lane road with my side being open. Im already in the lane when this old man decides there is enough room for us both so hes comming right at me. PLEASE PAY ATTENTION to everything:small3d031:

According to your definition, I am two years from being old. I think I am a fairly decent driver. Maybe because I ride motorcycles and have learned to watch out for everyone. So the second I hit 70 I am going to be death on wheels?
Generalizing that "old" people can't drive isn't accurate or fair.
Why not pick on housewives with cellphones glued to their ears or teenagers driving without engaging their brain or Joe Businessman eating his lunch while driving to the next meeting? They are all stereotypes that generally exist in small numbers. But the moment we encounter one it makes that particular group demolition derby material to us.
There are good and bad in every age group and both sexes. Some people just can't drive.
Incidentally, I have seen some complete morons on motorcycles, everything from those idiotic "wrist snappers" at the stop light to Joe Dirt doing 80 and weaving through traffic on the highway.
We all do not ride like that but when someone sees one of us doing it what do they do? Yup, they generalize and remark, "Man those bikers are all a bunch of idiots."

Good points taken from all of you. Like Geezer said Old is just a number to some (a bigger number to some thought patterns like BUBBIE) but none the less it is just a number.