free website stats program Twin cam 88 “B” | Harley Davidson Forums

Twin cam 88 “B”

Hello everyone,
My name is Jeff and I’m a new member and I own an 03 Fat Boy and an 07 Road King.
The Fat Boy has approximately 105K miles on it and has been a great bike for me. It’s has a carbureted 88 “B” engine, basically stock with the usual stage 1 upgrade, with V&H True Duals and minor carb tuning.
I’m looking to rebuild it with a S&S 100” Power Kit. My question is, is it a worthwhile project for a twin cam b motor? Virtually everything I have read seems to be fuel injected, alpha based builds,(no balancer weights). I’m not a mechanic but I am mechanically inclined and have performed most of my own work and maintenance and this is a project that I am likely to do myself.
Thanks in advance for any feedback and pointers.

Welcome from south Texas. Trust me, there are a gazillion or more displacement upgrades for the TC88. The MoCo has offered 95" Big Bore kit since the TC88 was introduced; about 10 years ago owners started boring OEM cylinders to 3.938" for a 09" displacement; shortly after that, the MoCo and the aftermarket introduced the 100" kits for the TC88. Worthwhile? Only you can decide that.

Are you considering the $3400 kit with cylinders, pistons, cam plate/pump, lifters and pushrods or just the piston/cylinder kit? Will you be doing the wrenching? Chain or gear drive kit?

Just a few off the cuff things for you to consider.
1. If considering gear drive; crank runout should be checked and if runout is close to or exceeds .003", stick with chain drive.
2. With the increased compression, you will need a progammable ignition to address timing. Stock timinng is a bit advanced and breaking in a new build with advanced timing generates heat and heat is the enemy of an air cooed vtwin.