free website stats program Starting issues | Harley Davidson Forums

Starting issues

LiLWalk7

I had recently purchased a 2006 softail deluxe in January. It has less than 2200 miles on the bike. I have been riding it for about 10 months and things seem fine. The bike was starting rough and upon the advice from a friend I changed out the battery. This seemed to fix the problem for a couple of weeks until this weekend. I went to start the bike after a half hour ride and the bike wouldn't turn over. All lights and electronics are working but the bike just would turn over. After kick starting the bike and getting it home, I turned the bike off and then attempted to start it up. It finally turned over and started however extremely rough. ANy thoughts or ideas where to head next? I appreciate any and all feedback.

Check the cables and make sure they are clean and tight. Cables have two ends and both need checked. Wouldn't hurt to remove them, inspect and hook them back up. Check the surface voltage of the battery with a quality VOM. also check voltage while trying to crank the bike. Reprot back with your findings.

Welcome to the Forum!

You also may want to have battery load tested. Check all relays and fuses for secure connection. Have you changed out the handle bar switches or covers??

I bet he means that while sitting on bike and pushing fast enough, dump clutch in 1st or second and bike started up and road home.......

It will skid the rear wheel in about every gear but the highest one if you try to "jump" start and some times, depending on the ccp, it will skid in the highest gear too.

Al

I had someone push me and I had the bike in 2nd. After numerous attempts it finally started. Something I would rather not have to attempt again.