free website stats program Slight gas smell to the crankcase oil? | Harley Davidson Forums

Slight gas smell to the crankcase oil?

Timotwo

Hey all,

I'm prepping my 2008 RG for a big ride, starting in a couple days, and while checking the oil level, I detected a slight smell of gas. I just turned 47,000 on the engine (all mine so I know how the bike was treated) and my last oil change was at 45,000. I run Mobil 1 V-Twin (20-50) and have since I changed oil at the 1,000 mark. Any thoughts?...or am I just over-sensitive to the slight gas smell. I've never noticed it before.

Much obliged on any "thoughts" you want to share.

Im not an expert on V-twins but I did work as a heavy equipment/diesel mechanic for a few years. On a diesel if you see or smell fuel in the oil it's sometimes caused by an ijector that is stuck open letting pressurized fuel squeeze by the piston rings. I suppose it could also be a ring failure also. Have you noticed smoke in the exhaust or any oil residue in the exhaust? You are not being overly sensitive, enough fuel in the oil will thin it out and cause a much bigger headache.

If your mileage is mainly in town riding, likely you are not riding long enough to evaporate the IC and moisture byproducts in suspension in your motor oil...! May be a hint that you are harder on your oil than you think.

Im not an expert on V-twins but I did work as a heavy equipment/diesel mechanic for a few years. On a diesel if you see or smell fuel in the oil it's sometimes caused by an ijector that is stuck open letting pressurized fuel squeeze by the piston rings. I suppose it could also be a ring failure also. Have you noticed smoke in the exhaust or any oil residue in the exhaust? You are not being overly sensitive, enough fuel in the oil will thin it out and cause a much bigger headache.

Good questions....No smoke in the exhaust and I just checked the pipes...no oily residue. Hmmmm...