free website stats program Lose those spokes! | Harley Davidson Forums

Lose those spokes!

2manycats

Hi all,
Noob here (new to the site and new to Harleys). I just need some advice, and I guess someone out there has come across my problem. About a month after I bought my 2010 Heritage S.T., I ran over a nail, which of course blew out the rear tube. The tow (flatbed) was $125 :newsmile038: to a dealer only about 1 1/2 miles away. Then another $160 for a tube :nosad. I was thinking that if I replaced those spoked wheels, I could go tubeless, then next time stick in a plug temporarily.
I've been looking at some used rims on Ebay, and the prices aren't too bad, but I need to know what size the axles are--is there some way to get the dimension without taking things apart?
And, I know the sizes I need, and I realize the bearings are separate, but is there anything else I need to know before I buy wheels? I don't need any $3,000/set artsy things, just something that isn't going to look too bad.

I would look at how many years riding versus flat tires. If upgrading to mag wheels to customize one thing. If want to loose spokes only if you might get a flat tire and be able to plug I would reconsider. The tow bill would be the same unless carrying a repair kit and inflater device. Also the plug is just temporary to get you to shop to replace tire.
Just my 2 cents.