free website stats program I need a new helmet! | Harley Davidson Forums

I need a new helmet!

simius

Banned
Okay, so I bought a HJC CL-16 full-face street helmet when I started riding last year. It is DOT/Snell, economical, and has been a good starter helmet; but since I just got my first Harley I think I need a helmet as good as my bike ;-)

I like the protection of a full-face, but I do find the chin guard kind of annoying at times, and I see it is kind of common, almost expected, that if you ride a Harley you have a half helmet. I really have no interest in a half, though, so I am thinking 3/4.

You guys got suggestions for a really good quality 3/4 that I should try? How about a Shoei J-Cruise? I bought the HJC online, but I am DEFINITELY buying in a shop this time so I can try them on. Or, if you have an opinion about types I am glad to hear them. Like, what will I miss about the full, or what will I might not like about a 3/4....

I have no experience with a 3/4 helmet but I do have experience with Shoei. I have a half and a full. Both great helmets. If you have a Cycle Gear near you, they have a great helmet return policy if you hate what you buy.

Harley has some great helmets available that have options specific for Harley and are very pricey. Bodeen has great advice about Cycle Gear. Do not try on a helmet in a store and then buy it on line. You more than likely will be unhappy with purchase if you can even return it. And you should try a helmet for at least 15 minutes in store before deciding if helmet is correct for you.

What type of helmet do you wear? - Harley Davidson Forums - HDTimeline.com

Do you wear a helmet? - Harley Davidson Forums - HDTimeline.com

Full face ? - Harley Davidson Forums - HDTimeline.com

Do not try on a helmet in a store and then buy it on line.