free website stats program How do you ride the twisties? | Harley Davidson Forums

How do you ride the twisties?

SteveB

Just got back from a trip to West Virginia. Really great riding there....Had a blast riding the mountain twisties. I got a lotta respect for anyone who lives in the mountains and has to ride those roads on a regular basis. I could tell the wear and tear on the motorcycle has to be tremendous. Just wondering how you all (from the mountains) ride in the mountains. I was always taught to gear down and use the transmission as a brake while descending so as not to heat up brakes. Now I have been told that it is not good on the newer models to ride like that. I do not know why? this is what a friend told me. How do you ride the mountains?

I have to agree with you on the beautiful country, however I won't be much help to answer your questions since I'm still learning myself. Got pix???? :D

Just got back from a trip to West Virginia. Really great riding there....Had a blast riding the mountain twisties. I got a lotta respect for anyone who lives in the mountains and has to ride those roads on a regular basis. I could tell the wear and tear on the motorcycle has to be tremendous. Just wondering how you all (from the mountains) ride in the mountains. I was always taught to gear down and use the transmission as a brake while descending so as not to heat up brakes. Now I have been told that it is not good on the newer models to ride like that. I do not know why? this is what a friend told me. How do you ride the mountains?

I think the problem with gearing down comes from the 96 engines with the crummy cranks. It really doesn't take a lot to give you excessive run out and after that, it's history.

Do you really believe that the cranks are so suspect that the use of downshift braking can cause a misalinment?
Not being critical, I honestly want to know.