free website stats program From Florida to NY | Harley Davidson Forums

From Florida to NY

haroldt

I'm planing a solo trip from Melbourne Florida to upstate NY (Syracuse area) on my 98 Heritage. I've been riding since 2005 and have logged over 27k. While never having taken on this type of a ride, I do ride the interstates often and have done several 2, 3, 4 hour trips.

Has anyone made this trip?

I will be taking 95 north and was concerned about driving around DC, it's scary enough in a car. I was told about taking 95 to I-26 in South Carolina to I-77 and then north to I-81. Any thoughts?

I've been reading the Touring section of this site and getting some good ideas. Besides the obvious thinks like getting the bike checked and wearing clean underwear... what words of wisdom might you fine folks bestow upon me.

I'm getting excited and am counting the weeks. Thank you - Harold

Smitty that is all excellent advice. Haroldt hope you enjoy your trip. Make sure your bike is ready for the trip, good tires especially. I have ridden 81 from Canada down to the Poconos, excellent highway

If you're not in a hurry to get there, the Blue Ridge Parkway would cover over 400 miles of that trip and be a lot prettier than the super-slab!

I would be very wary of I-77 North from Charlotte, NC to the Va. State Line.
There are large areas of it that are concrete which gives you the "washboard"
ride & there are millions of road patches also. Follow eleft36's advise & use
I-95 to Richmond, then I-64 West, all good riding

eleft is right, made that trip a couple times...have a great trip....:D

Attachments

• Chillin.JPG
    Chillin.JPG
    118.1 KB · Views: 17
Use post office to mail home anything you buy on the trip
Have an extra key for the bike some were
Keep cash and cards in different place lose one not both
Any thing strapped on the bike can fall off the bike
Rain Gear can help warm you up a bit if the weather gets cool
Double your fun return a different route.