Dyna vs Sportster

Discussion in 'Dyna Models' started by danthern, Aug 20, 2010.

1. danthern

danthern Active Member

I'm new to Harleys and recently bought a 2010 FXDC that I am absolutley obsessed with. 3 days ago I bought my wife a new Sporty 48. Very good looking bike and perfect for her small stature. I rode it home from the dealer and have ridden it a couple times since. The difference in my Super Glide and her 48 is like a old VW and a new Mercedes. I guess my question is should the difference be so obvious in the ride? I realize the motor, chassis, tranny etc are signifigantly different but holy (EDIT) I didn't realize how nice my Dyna is until I rode the Sporty. Not knocking the 48, just want to be sure there's not something wrong with it.

Of course I'd never say that to her.....

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2010
  2. Hoople

Hoople Account Removed

There's probably nothing wrong.
    Before I took demo rides of all the different frames available I would not have thought there was so much difference also. Riding height, center of gravity, isolation mounts are just a few differences between all the families of frames.
    I was shocked just like you were at the Huge difference.

3. bwalsh22

bwalsh22 Junior Member

That is probably why my father-in-law told me to at least get a Dyna, since my first thought was just to get a Sporty. He told me I would enjoy it, but would be cramped for the 40 mile ride I take back and forth to work most days. Not knocking the sportys as I never rode one, but I do love my Dyna and can say I will have it for a long time.

4. danthern

danthern Active Member