free website stats program Cam chain rattle? | Harley Davidson Forums

Cam chain rattle?

jaxdwg

I have an 02 wide glide with 85,000 miles on it. Last week I heard a rattle coming from under the cam and oil pump cover so naturally I assumed it was time to do the tensioners again, wrong, the tensioners had at least half the wear left on them. I replaced them anyway and the noise was gone for a couple hours then returned. I noticed that the outer chain seemed to have more deflection than I remembered from the last tensioner change but without a new chain to compare to I am just guessing. Question; has anyone had this problem on their bikes? bike runs fine but the rattle makes me crazy and being a master mechanic I like things right but don't want to change everything in there if I don't have to-----:(----jack

Is it possible you are mistaken the lifter roller noise for the cam chain noise and the lifters need replacing?

Is it possible you are mistaken the lifter roller noise for the cam chain noise and the lifters need replacing?

Yes; that is a possibility but why would the noise go away for a few hours after re-assembly then start again? I would think the lifters would have gone right back to making noise. can you fill me in on checking for bad lifters on a twin cam? It has been running really good and then this noise but the idle and running doesn't appear to have changed------jack

Jack

With 85K on the engine, I would pull them and replace them. If you want to reuse the stock push rods, then you have to open up the rocker boxes to get the push rods out or you can cut them out and replace them with adjustable push rods after the lifters are installed.Possible when reinstalling the lifters the orientation was different on start up. Did you inspect the cam lobes and rollers on the lifters? There has been some problems with the hard coating on the cam lobes degrading and also the lifter roller pins going bad.