free website stats program Broken transmission / front pulley (1994 FXR) | Harley Davidson Forums

Broken transmission / front pulley (1994 FXR)

Banjer

Dear all,

I have the following problem with my FXR Superglide 1340cc from 1994:

When I rode away from home the other day, I suddenly lost traction and a very disturbing rattling noise came from my engine / transmission.

I removed the primary case, chain w. clutch, housing to find out that when I turn the 'ingoing' shaft in my transmission, the front pulley / belt / rearwheel do not turn, and the rattling noise is there again.

This is the case in every gear I try. I opened the transmission cover, everything looks well inside (but I am not an expert...)

I suspect the connection between the front pulley and the outgoing shaft from the transmission is broken. I guess this is a spline, but I am not sure.

I am trying to remove the front pulley-nut (with a 50mm socket - we do not have that much inch sockets in the Netherlands) but, apparently due to the fact that something is broken, something inside is also rotating and the nut won't come loose.

There is also that metal plate w. to allen-screws, I don't understand what is does. Currently nothing since I removed the allen screws and the nut glides over it anyway --> this might be the cause of the problem?

Wow - a long story, in short, my questions are:
- How is the pulley attached to the outgoing shaft of the transmission?
- What is the function of this metal plate?
- Can this metal plate be the reason that my pulley doesn't rotate when I turn the ingoing axle of my transmission (in any given gear).
- The nut on the pulley 'glides over' this metal plate - can this be the reason that things broke down?
- If not, what else can be the reason for this (maybe inside the transmission?
- How can I remove the metal plate and the front pulley (I tried an air-gun), is it left or right turning? (I believe I should turn it counterclockwise to remove it).