free website stats program Another cam chain tensioner question | Harley Davidson Forums

Another cam chain tensioner question

Blue Wide Glide

I was told by a local dealer that doing the cam chain tensioner upgrade would take 8 hours. Eight hours seems like a lot of time to me. I would like to hear how long it took from those that have had it done by a dealer, and how long it took from those that have done it themselves.

It took me a Saturday to do mine. I cut the push rods and installed adjustable push rods. I imagine if you have done a few you could do it quicker. If you don't cut the push rods it is going to take a longer.
kemo

If you have never done it before it will take you about 8 hours, if you take your time. Helped a friend do it last spring and 8 hours into it we were done with the test ride and had a few beers down. Neither one of us is a mechanic by trade, but do have all the tools. Even if you re-use the stoclk push rods, still shouldn't take that long, but we did use new adjustable ones so that could be the difference.

Last edited:
I was told by a local dealer that doing the cam chain tensioner upgrade would take 8 hours. Eight hours seems like a lot of time to me. I would like to hear how long it took from those that have had it done by a dealer, and how long it took from those that have done it themselves.

I work for a dealer and we charge 6hrs to replace the old spring loaded tensioners, and the same for inst the hydraulic upgrade. I have done it in 3.5 hrs using adj pushrods and just cutting the stock one out w/ bolt cutters. This takes less time cause no need to remove the fuel tank and unload the valve train. 8 hrs seems like too much to me. Why not do it your self?

I just had my cam tensioners up graded to hydraulic, cams replaced to SE-203, push rods, new lifters, also had the 1550 flat top pistons and cylinders replaced to bring my 88cu in to 95cu in, starter bendix replaced all for 10 hours.