free website stats program An easy ? to be answered, but I dont know for sure! | Harley Davidson Forums

An easy ? to be answered, but I dont know for sure!

BillMull

Banned
I have a 96 Sportster Custom and I posted a thread awhile back about oil and if synthetic was good to use. I went o Advance Auto Parts to see if they carry oil I can use in my bike and also to see if they have Primary oil also. I found 20-50 Mobil for a V-Twin 4-Cycle. Is my motor a V-Twin 4-cycle and will this work in my bike? Im still learning this, I have a good idea of what my bike is but this is an area I will not be 99% sure and with my luck it will be the 1% wrong. And one more question for ya! Will this oil also work for my Primary oil? It says on the bottle it can be used for motor oil, crankcase and primary oil. Thanks for any responses given on this!!!:newsmile106:

Yes that would be a suitable oil for the engine for the transmission i would look for something made specifically for the sportster transmission as it has the primary and the gearbox all sharing the same oil and a gearbox oil may not be good for a wet clutch and an engine oil may not work well with a gearbox
Harley formula+ is one suitable oil but there are others

Brian

Is my motor a V-Twin 4-cycle and will this work in my bike?

A 4 cycle engine is one that uses straight gas without the oil mixed in. Yours is a 4 cycle engine.

Not to be confused with an oil injected motor in other smaller bikes.

My Buell used an oil called sportstran but that is obsolete now. It now uses Formula plus
Ken

My Buell used an oil called sportstran but that is obsolete now. It now uses Formula plus
Ken

I also used the sportstrans fluid when it was available i think it is 3 or 4 years since i last managed to get it i have been using formula+ since then for the sportster

Brian