free website stats program why an 883 | Harley Davidson Forums

why an 883

I wish everybody rode a motorcycle, but a two-seater, as life is about sharing. I like small displacements because they are nice, gentle, and unpretentious. Let's not confuse beauty with ostentatiousness! The modesty of the 883 is an integral part of its beauty, along with its simplicity, universality, and of course its unique design. I am the second owner of mine. The previous one was a good caretaker. I hope I will be a good father to my Sportster, my first Harley.

I have started to fiddle with the carb, doing n'importe quoi. Now it won't idle anymore. I have also replaced the huge blinkers with tiny led ones, and then they wouldn't blink. My solution to this was to put back two off the old blinkers hidden under the saddle, additionally to the four leds. Now I have six blinkers! lol!! This might need to be fixed professionally.

Despite me being a clumsy would-be mechanic, my 883 still loves me. It is gracefully turning the other cheek, and still starts in the morning to haul my undeserving ass. This bike is not just a motorcycle, it's a philosophical work of art ! one of my best friends...

Attachments

• IMG_0686.jpeg
    IMG_0686.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0
They are a nice way to start.750's used to be a big bore bike.Now you can add 1000 c.c.'s to that.Mon compatriote.

Attachments

• tmpphpyu1Gjt.jpg
    tmpphpyu1Gjt.jpg
    151.8 KB · Views: 0
They are a nice way to start.750's used to be a big bore bike.Now you can add 1000 c.c.'s to that.Mon compatriote.
Yes indeed jamesesrl. I started 30 years ago in San Francisco when a workmate wanted to give up riding because he had his first child. I bought his Honda Rebel 250