free website stats program Texas State Inspection, Required? | Harley Davidson Forums

Texas State Inspection, Required?

I just picked up a used bike so I am new to this game. Do I need to get the bike inspected? The registration was way past due according to my title transfer person so I have to assume the inspection would be past due as well. Where is the sticker supposed to be located? If there is an inpection, are there certain places that will do bikes or does any state inspection station do them? Certainly I dont want that 19 year old high school drop out driving my bike around testing the brakes and what have you. He is as likely to jam it into another car as get it back to me safely. Maybe the HD dealer does this?

Located in Texas in case you missed the title.

Yes you will need to inspect, and they don't have to ride the bike to do it. You can get it done at a dealer or any indy that is registered to do it. I actually found a local garage that did both bikes and cars and had it done in a few minutes. You can put the sticker in various places on the bike most common is below the plate.

Inspection is annual and you have to have proof of insurance just like a cage.

I'm not positive but I think the current law says the sticker must be by the plate.

Most certified TX inspection places will do bikes too. Just make sure they have some bike stickers before they start. The inspection is still pretty superficial - lights, signals, horn, etc. But as said above, you will need proof of insurance to get it done. Usually, there will be an aluminum or other metal plate angled along your rear fender from behind the license plate. This is the inspection sticker plate. See here:

Aftermarket motorcycle parts for your Harley, Metric Cruiser and Sportbike.

TQ