free website stats program Potential new FXDC rider!!! | Harley Davidson Forums

Potential new FXDC rider!!!

Drew

I posted the below introduction in the "new member" forum, but wanted to reprint it here, as I am quite sure this will be the family of motorcycle I will be purchasing.
-----------------------------------------------------------

Hello all-
I took the MSF course last September, and am seriously looking into buying a Dyna superglide custom. I thought I should start on something smaller, as the MSF course is the only experience I have, but many experienced riders have said I would be fine on a bigger bike. I am a very cautious driver, and would be ATGATT, full face helmet, etc. I have two small kids at home, so I will do everything in my power to decrease the risks this sport inherently has. I have read Proficient Motorcycling, and A Twist of the Wrist. I would say I took to riding a motory cycle very well in class. But I must admit, I'm a little nervous to make that first venture into traffic. I am athletic and well coordinated (and have always driven a stick shift car... so the clutch/throttle dynamic came fairly easy to me) so I hope that serves me well. My stats:

35 yr. old male
6'1" and a muscular 210 pounds

My wife seems to be o.k. with this pursuit I will be undertaking. Now, I really just gotta buy a bike and get some experience.

Any suggestions, hints, tips, or otherwise would be greatly appreciated. I've already learned a bunch from perusing the site. I look forward to becoming more involved after I actually begin riding.

all the best,
Drew (from Chicago)

Last edited: