free website stats program New Cam Ideas? | Harley Davidson Forums

New Cam Ideas?

jbabk

Contributor
:bigsmiley28:I want to power up my 07 Roadking a bit so I am going to put a cam in it. I am looking for suggestions. The bike now has Vance & Hines true duals with Vance and Hines slip-on mufflers along with a Arlen Ness Big Sucker air cleaner. I also have a Techclusion TFI. Any ideas? I am expecting to do this work myself but I admit I am not a certified mechanic, so I don't want too much technical info that I won't understand. I also would like any suggestions as to where I might purchase these items?

Joe B:small3d011:

You might want to take a look at the SE 255. From what I am reading, they will increase peak HP at about 5k, producing best power between 2500-4500. This is right where most of us ride.
These are the standard cam in the CVO bikes, and are redialy available.
If you are just looking to improve rideability, and don't want to get into any additional engine work, these seem to fill the bill.
There's been a considerable amount written on this, and discussed at great lengths.
Everyone who has made the install has nothing but good things to say following the change.
Do a google search, and see what you come up with.

TQ - Thanks for the response.

Joe

gs34 - I also thank you for your response. I am planning to have the jugs bored out also.

Joe

Last edited by a moderator:
Went with an Andrews 26N cam when I did the roller chain conversion on my '99 Ultra. Like you, I have a TFI, Big Sucker air cleaner and V&H slip ons. The 26N comes on at about 1800 and is done by 4000. Very pleased with the performance results. Didn't effect fuel economy much at all.

Went with an Andrews 26N cam when I did the roller chain conversion on my '99 Ultra. Like you, I have a TFI, Big Sucker air cleaner and V&H slip ons. The 26N comes on at about 1800 and is done by 4000. Very pleased with the performance results. Didn't effect fuel economy much at all.