Lookin for more ponies

Discussion in 'Engine, Fuel and Exhaust' started by jaxdwg, Jan 26, 2010.

1. jaxdwg

jaxdwg Active Member

I'm new to the engine section but have been at the dyna section for years, Hi all; I got beat by my buddy, he has an 03 ultra, injected, with 211 cams, rinehart true duals, and a stroker making it 96". I have a stock 02 wide glide, a/c and v&h 2into1 exhaust. He beat me but not terrible so I figured I'd send out a set of heads I picked up and have them worked over some, then put in some cams and go up 1 jet size on the main and lifting the needle a little. Was wondering if someone might know what cams might work best with stock pistons but with head work and the thinner head gaskets, exhaust and jetting? I am looking to keep good grunt on the low and mid range and still idle decent and maintain longevity. Thanks for any help----jack

2. kemo

kemo R.I.P

It would be a good time to consider doing the roller chanin conversion and hyd tensioner upgrade. I am using the Andrews 26N cams. Your bike is most likely due for tensioners. Good luck on deciding your build
    kemo

3. Chopper

Chopper Senior Member

Hi jaxdwg, I would match his 211 cams, they are good cams that like a light bike and love compression, there so mild you can run stock push rods if you wanted. They don't beat the engine up so there good for longevity. S/E heavey breather will help also for sure. don't know how many miles you have on the bike but while the heads are off I would pop some S/E big bore cylinders with high compression cast pistons on the bike, and while I was doing cams I would also install hybrid cam plate and high flow oil pump kit