free website stats program intermittent electrical problem | Harley Davidson Forums

intermittent electrical problem

elk258

I am new to the Harley family, just bought an 07' Electra Glide Standard with 13,000 miles on it. Have been having an intermittent problem. It began with the stereo which would work perfectly (HK with hog tunes amp and speakers, subwoofers in the lowers) then occassionally when starting the bike will get interference through the speakers or they will not work at all. If I shut off the bike and just turn on the stereo it will usually work perfectly. Then on Sat. the bike stalled when idling, I restarted it and it stalled again and all electrical went dead with no power to anything. After sitting for several hours the bike started and ran normally (still have issues with the stereo speakers) I checked the battery and all appears to be fine, also showing normal charging rate when operating the bike. Any ideas?

Thanks

Did you check the battery cables. Don't just look take them loose and clean all surfaces, use a little dielectric grease when reassembling.

Agree with what Don said, neg off first and on last to prevent any sparks.

I guess it's the static emittantence from the loose connections getting into the radio waves ?

Funny how diverse electrical stuff can be. If you add a blown main fuse, it sounds very similar to another recent thread.

I guess it's the static emittantence from the loose connections getting into the radio waves ?

Funny how diverse electrical stuff can be. If you add a blown main fuse, it sounds very similar to another recent thread.

Cleaning the battery cables and tightening them down will probably not fix the radio problem. Cracked coil tower, faulty sparkplug wire, cracked sparkplug, bad radio ground maybe? I was just going after one problem at a time. Seemed like keeping the bike running took precedence over the radio. JMHO, Don