free website stats program How Valuable can ABS be?? | Harley Davidson Forums

How Valuable can ABS be??

Hi everyone,
as i am approaching the delivery date of my new 09 RKC with ABS, i was wondering if anyone could give me some insights into the real value of having abs ( not its use or technical ops) just the real deal in terms of safety. I am definitely for it, though in my 30 years of riding bikes i can only remember maybe 2 or 3 occasions where it could have helped! ( incidents nothing serious).
Any insights?
thanks

Not a techie here but it great to have on a bike, especially on the RK as the rear tire tends to skid under real heavy braking. With ABS there is nothing to worry about.

I have no real experience with ABS on a bike but I can think of one time I went down that it probably would have made a big difference. On a car or truck here in MAINE it is great, even after 40 years of driving experience without it.

I have to believe it's useful as I used it as an excuse to rationalize my trading in my 07 RK on an 09 Ultra!

Seriously, I did buy my Ultra based on availability of ABS because of an incident last spring. Watched in growing disbelief as a car driven by some senile old man made a left u-turn from the oncoming lane, crossed two open lanes, pulled into my lane then stopped to make a right turn into a strip mall. I locked up the rear brake, fishtailed but kept it upright and stopped about a foot from his rear bumper. Could have stopped earlier but just didn't grasp early enough this idiot would do such a thing. Decided then to practice more panic stops and that ABS would not be a bad investment.

Last edited: