free website stats program How much? | Harley Davidson Forums

How much?

OK, I recently inherited my fathers bike and I need to get it insured before I hit the road with it. The lady I was talking to at the insurance agency asked me what the bike would have cost brand new and what's it's worth now. I'm new to the bike scene so I have no clue of either. Can someone with more knowledge than me (it doesn't take much at all!) please help me out here, thanks. Pictures of my bike are on my profile page.

user19187_pic1480_12466631041.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice bike! OK, here's what I would do in your situation here in TX if I owned it. First, get some kind of POI card, tell them 15K, (both original copies of the easyrider bikes, Capt. America and Billy, went at auction 2 yrs ago for 42K for both bikes) then I'd ride it up to at least 3 LOCAL HD dealers and see what you could get for it on a trade in on a new HD. Document that with something written from the dealers. Second, I'd take it to a couple of custom shops, that builds bikes in the shop, and ask them for an estimated value of your bike, if they had to rebuild it for you. Now, take all that info, and your pictures, and go see an agent. Sit down with them in an actual insurance office and have them build you a, REPLACEMENT policy, not an actual cash value policy (Blue Book). Once you 'sit down with an agent', it will all come together for you providing your state, and his agency, will let him write a policy on the motorcycle, outside of an 'antique vehicle' policy (normaly unheard of for motorcycles post 40's). Be preparded, a Replacement policy cost a whole lot more than Actual Cash Value policies. Hope this helps!

I thought the orginal Capt america bike was stoled and its whereabouts unknown last i heard..

but texas pretty well has ya covered