free website stats program Greetings from the left coast, USA | Harley Davidson Forums

Greetings from the left coast, USA

Hi! I found this thread while searching for info on a brake dragging issue I am working on. I have to say that I was really impressed at the quality of the advice and the generosity of those contributing their time to the process. Over my very long lifetime my experiences with public forums has been all over the board. Some are great. Others are inhabited by total jerks. So far, what I've seen here is very impressive so I'm hoping I will be welcomed to hang around for a while.

I've been riding since 1962, first bike was a 1951 hydraglide. So obviously not a young guy. Formerly from the east coast (Boston) and headed west from New Hampshire in the mid-80's. I am definitely NOT a gifted mechanic but for whatever it's worth I do most of my own wrenching and I was a machinist mate in the US Navy. Computer systems engineering was my profession and I have a BSEE.

In my old age I am trying to learn more about what makes my bikes go. As much as a mental agility project as it is a hobby. For most of my life I rode them until they broke. These days I am digging in and being much more proactive about looking into things that are wearing out, need attention and so on. In some ways I hate doing anything that might disable my bike since if there is any way to install something backwards, I'll find it. But I do have a second "daily driver", my 1997 FXR so if I botch something up I won't be a pedestrian.