free website stats program Financing | Harley Davidson Forums

Financing

aunkster

As some of you may know from my intro post I am very new to HD and am beginning my search.
But my question here deals with financing.
Is HD financing as good as a bank?

Pros?
Cons?

Just curious..

Are they more liberal in the lending than a bank?

sorry if these questions has been posted here before.

Simply my opinion but I'll bet they're a little more liberal than most banks or credit unions. That's part of the reason you can find so many used Harley's being sold pretty much for the loan payoff - HD approved them and less than a year later they figure out they really can't afford the payment and need to sell the bike.

I have used HD credit in the past. Thier rates are like any other lending institution, they vary, so as another post stated, check around. Other than that, I had no problems, their customer service was good, and overall, if I had to go to payments again, and their rates were competitive, I'd use them.

If you have good credit check a local credit union that you can join. I financed my '09 through HD credit because they gave me about $700 extra off the bike, I then refinaced at my credit union and dropped my rate from 7.99% to 3.65%. You may want to look into a similar scenario depending on the deals HD has right now. Also, dont do this at a bank becuase there are fees associated with auto/cycle loans at most banks that will negate the incentive from HD, where as most credit unions do not charge any fees upfront to write a loan.

I would check out several credit unions. i found they have better reates, and will lend more than a bank based on the age and value. and the lending terms were far better. Hd probably will be liberal as well, since they need to start moving some used bikes

As some of you may know from my intro post I am very new to HD and am beginning my search.
But my question here deals with financing.
Is HD financing as good as a bank?

Pros?
Cons?