free website stats program Easy WAy to Take TFI Out of Circuit | Harley Davidson Forums

Easy WAy to Take TFI Out of Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

RibEye

I am an electronic and software engineer, so forgive my technical terminology. I am having an issue that requires a process of elimination. The issue is far too intermittent to allow an easy determination of fault.

I do not believe my problem is the TFI, but I want to eliminate it as a possibility. It is fairly difficult to physically remove it, and I don't want to just turn some pot settings. I want to eliminate its function, but leave it installed. Is that possible?

I have been told that you can just disconnect its ground wire. That makes some sense to me, in that, the injectors are low-side driven, and the TFI injector drive contribution could easily be hard-wire OR'd with the ECU injector drivers. Is this true?

In any case, is it safe to disconnect the TFI ground wire and run it that way for a week or so? My problem is very intermittent, but significant when it occurs, and I may need time to see it occur with the TFI out of the circuit. Sometimes the issue (stuttering and misfiring) does not occur for 70-90 miles.

Thanks in advance,
Rich P

yes you could do it like that but remember your creating a lean condition..

have you checked the injector wires 4 a break in the wire you have to feel it as it will be broke coating wont .. will cause intermittent probs

Just confirming as stated above from a few users that simply disconnecting the ground wire from a TFI or GEN 3 is just like removing the unit. The bike will be able to start and function off the stock ECU map. This is dependent on the assumption that a wire is not broke on the harness.