free website stats program Concerned about our daily morning newspaper. | Harley Davidson Forums

Concerned about our daily morning newspaper.

I am a life-long resident of Wisconsin, growing up in both Madison and Milwaukee. We have always had multiple newspapers. In Milwaukee, we had the Journal and the Sentinel, which are now merged. In Madison, we had the The Wisconsin State Journal and the Capitol Times. The Cap-Times is now a just a once-per-week insert in that WSJ.

Over the past few months my wife and I have noticed that not only the physical size of the Wisconsin State Journal narrowed, but it has fewer pages and the depth of reporting seems to have dumbed down to a periodical. Even the Sunday 'Parade' section is so small we often lose it in the advertising inserts.

Now, I realize that many people get their news on-line. I also know that many national newspapers are closing. However, we have boots on the ground in the middle-east, a Presidential campaign looming and one of the ugliest local gubernatorial wranglings I've ever seen. Any newspaper should be stuffed with stories not only about local crime, but indepth reporting on national and international news.

My wife and I can both finish the entire paper--and that includes the unfunny comics--within ten minutes. The crossword puzzle might take longer.

I find it cyclic. We claim our kids do not receive the same quality education we got. We criticize the the entire country to be uncaring. Most of us cannot find common countries on a globe. But it seems the overall thinking here is that modern people are dumb so a newspaper should be dumb, too.

We have world events unfolding. I doubt anyone watched the Republican debate, but even my friends know a Kardashian got married. Heck, even I know that. A newspaper might be an antiquated method of dispensing news, but if no one is offered any information it's easier to just spoonfeed them any propoganda at any time.

Is your area any different?