free website stats program Cam Tensioner: what should I do? | Harley Davidson Forums

Cam Tensioner: what should I do?

5Pack

I've been lucky enough to meet a 26 year vetran in HD mechanics. Last wekend he changed tires for me at his shop. We talked abot my bike and he said everything looked and sounded OK (he did not give it a good going over, just wanted to know if anything jumped out at him) but he asked about the cam tensioners. i could not give a def answer; i bought the bike at about 57K miles and now have about 64K miles on it and don't know what work prev owner did (or didn't) do.
1. If you were me, would you change the cam tens spring anyways?
2. Do you know how to do it?
3. How much would parts cost?
4. I know how to turn wrenches, and i can get a shop manual, but I am by no means a mechanic. Is this something I can do on my own?
I have no intention at this time to do any performance upgrades, I just don't want to have a tensioner go bad 200 miles from home.

I would check them since its a unknow.. it has been posted about how to do them here

as for cost depends what you want to do .. Gear drive? or conversion to the new chain setups ?? or just replace bare minimum parts?

At the urging of folks on this forum, I pulled the Ultra apart the other day and removed the cam cover. Thank god I listened to the voice of reason. The tensioner on the chain from the pinion to the rear sprocket was so worn that it was almost non existant. Trouble was, the bike ran fine. It has about 71,000 on it, and I am in the process of converting to the new roller chain. I am going to do it myself, as I can turn a wrench and have rebuilt a few motors in my time. Will keep the group posted as to my success (or lack thereof). My advice is the same as the advice given to me: check the tensioners out.....