free website stats program 1996 Heritage electrical problems | Harley Davidson Forums

1996 Heritage electrical problems

jlbreaux

Hey folks, newbie here to the forum and I was hoping someone could help me out. I have a 96’ Heritage Classic and I have had issues for the past couple of years with my lights going out and coming back on while riding. I changed the pigtail for the headlight, I have changed the relay, checked fuses, checked grounds, checked for damaged cables, checked connections under dash housing for the ignition, all to no avail. I did not notice anything loose, broken or damaged. As it normally happens, I brought it to the shop twice and they could not duplicate problem. Just recently while I was riding I lost everything, headlight, running lights, dash lights etc. I took off from a stop sign and the bike died like I turned it off. This is the first time this has happened. After 30 seconds or so it fired right up and ran great all the way home, I killed it to open my shop, got back on it turned on ignition… nothing, no dash lights no head light, running lights nothing. I toggled the kill switch off and on and gave it a few “love taps” light came on and it fired right up. I am now thinking it may be my run/stop switch or my ignition, can the run/stop switch affect the lights? I hate to change parts and still have the problem. I am at my wits end with this and I refuse to bring it to the shop again. I will take ANY and ALL comments, suggestions, bashings and or advice! :dknow Thanks

Not completely familiar with your year but the I do no think the run/kill switch has anything to do with the lights. Your ignition switch obviously does. Do you have a main breaker coming off the positive lead of the battery? It has two posts and is rectangular. Its a self resetting breaker. It gets hot and trips, then cools and resets. They are cheap and easy to replace.

Welcome to the forum.