free website stats program Would a mechanic's inspection be a good idea? | Harley Davidson Forums

Would a mechanic's inspection be a good idea?

steve57

I'm no mechanic - I can change oil and light bulbs and that's about it. I'm willing to get my hands dirty and to learn more.

I just bought my first HD - it's been a life-long desire and I'm thrilled. I got a used bike - a '97 Electra Glide Classic (private seller - out of state). It's in great shape, and was well taken care of.

Here is my question. Since I'm no mechanic, should I take it to a HD mechanic and have him inspect it or would that just be throwing money away? I've only heard good things about the local HD dealership.

I would like to know if anything is on the verge of going bad.

Did the seller give you his manual? Did he note the mileage where he did maintenance? My manual has a cool section that tells you what to check at each 5000 mile interval. Then you just go and learn how to do that specific task.
Obviously change the fluids and if you want measure the oil that comes out. Other than that if the brakes and tires are good just start with 50 to 100 mile runs and build up the relationship and trust in your ride. JMO

Welcome Steve57, I like Webbtrons approach. If previous owner did give you a manual, I like flipping through the pages and finding the dirty ones :) gives you a Idea what they were wrenching on. The care of the scooter will determine if your on the verge of things going bad. I'm nearing 75k on same motor (I assume).. all is well (knock knock) change fluids, tires, breaks, add gas and enjoy. I keep a eye and ear out for leaks and strange sounds.... so far so good.

p.s. A wise man told me when your HD stops making strange noises, that is when you worry.

Welcome to The Forum, With a Factory manual, the self help section here and all of the members can walk you through your problems:s