free website stats program Where does one carry smart fob | Harley Davidson Forums

Where does one carry smart fob

pfschmidt

I'm new to the new generation of HDs. On my 97 dyna, I left my ignition key in the ignition as I rode. I hooked it on my belt loop when not riding. Now I have a 2010 UC Classic and have a fob/key for the ignition and alarm. Still carry on my belt loop when not riding but supprise even when riding. But now in the cold weather I wear chaps and can't get my fob/key to open gas lid or lock/unlock saddle bags.
So my question is what do most riders do with fob/key when riding?
HD dealer suggested extra gas lid key, as all are the same.

Ride safe.

A extra barrel key is a good idea, alot of guys install the push button on there gas covers and forget all about keys since any key will open it anyways. If you keep the fob in a pocket on your leather, keep it zipped. Also make sure you have a personal pin number entered into the system, just incase also if you trailer your bike anytime make sure you put it in transport mode or you'll have a dead battery when you get to your final destination. Enjoy the ride.

In the cool months I carry my fob and key in the pocket of my jacket. Warm months it is in my pants pocket. So far that is the most convenient.

What timing for this post! I went for a ride a couple of weeks ago when it got warm enough here in Pittsburgh. I didn't notice I left the key & fob in the ignition (never did this before).

Discovered later it bounced out. Good thing I didn't shut the bike off. Tried my spare to start the bike later and found the original dealer NEVER PROGRAMMED IT! Luckily the dealer I bought it from used is great and is picking up my Ultra next week at no charge to program my back up and new fob.

Lesson? Make sure all your fobs are programmed!