free website stats program When will I quit riding?? | Harley Davidson Forums

When will I quit riding??

kerry

I wanted to see if anyone can relate to this----I started riding in '73, and for the last few years my back pain from a old injury started to kill me when I rode. So---I tried different bikes, different positions, short trips only----everything. Well, after deciding to stop riding a couple of times, I still can't do it. Nothing else gives me the "live in the moment--challenge--speed trip"
that biking does. I'm starting to think that maybe riding with pain is better than nothing.-------kerry

Well Kerry, first of all, welcome to the forum!

You'll find a LOT of guys, (ME included!) that continue to ride as we age, even though the riding itself is sometimes the cause of additional aches and pains!

The bottom line is....we're dead an awful long time.

As long as we can find joy in what we do, we should continue to DO IT!

Take a couple aspirin, get out for a ride, and call me in the morning....that's the advice the doctors HERE will ALL give ya!

Right guys???

I second that! Ride until you can hold it up any more, then get a trike!

You didn't say if the pain is present when your not riding. Have you consulted with your doctor to see if anything can be done to lessen the pain and won't cause you to be drowsey or knock you out completley. Are you doing further damage to the injury by riding? My wife rides a trike with a seating position that is like sitting in a lounge chair, leaned back with full back support. I would hate to give up riding and I think I would be doing everything I could to keep me in the wind. Good luck to you.

Yes Aspirin does dull the pain. The ride is worth it. We just don't ride as far and as hard as we once used to. Trike sounds like an awesome idea!!

Take care and ride safe eh!!:D