free website stats program What to do..... | Harley Davidson Forums

What to do.....

RAWLDYMAN

I'm in a bit of a quandry as to what to do as regards whether to upgrade my sportster or move up to the big twin scene and would appreciate opinions.
I've enjoyed every minute of my SportyL and have done a few mods including Progressive shocks, sundowner seat, Backrest, passenger footpegs, V & H Slip-ons and windsheild and was intending to do Stage 1 over the winter.
I don't do big tours and the way the bike is set up is OK for me and the Missus (we're both small & light) for short trips, but on the motorway at 70mph it sounds like it's overworked & could do with a 6th gear.
Apart from Stage 1 I was thinking should I upgrade from 883 to 1200? And maybe replace the tank with a bigger one?
Then I got to thinking, should I (we!) just forget about it and try and go for a Dyna? It's big money and the thought of a 1580cc engine is a little intimidating as I'm not that experienced in the saddle and all that power... then again I've read here that they are easier to ride than a sporty.

I'm in a bit of a quandry as to what to do as regards whether to upgrade my sportster or move up to the big twin scene and would appreciate opinions.
I've enjoyed every minute of my SportyL and have done a few mods including Progressive shocks, sundowner seat, Backrest, passenger footpegs, V & H Slip-ons and windsheild and was intending to do Stage 1 over the winter.
I don't do big tours and the way the bike is set up is OK for me and the Missus (we're both small & light) for short trips, but on the motorway at 70mph it sounds like it's overworked & could do with a 6th gear.
Apart from Stage 1 I was thinking should I upgrade from 883 to 1200? And maybe replace the tank with a bigger one?