free website stats program What fluids to run? | Harley Davidson Forums

What fluids to run?

Jellymule79

Ok... Recently purchased an 04 FLHTC.
It has stage 2, V&H true duals, and an Ultima 6 speed transmission.
The previous owner was running Amsoil 20w/ 50 full synthetic in crankcase, tranny, and primary. 4th and 6th gear whine.
I'm looking for suggestions on what oils to run. I'm not a motorcycle mechanic by any means, but to me it just doesn't seem right to run the same fluid for all the components. Suggestions please....!

Oil is a religion to some, I like Redline
71gxaiy8KQL._SL1500_.jpg

Oil is a religion to some, I like Redline"
Good one Jack! :) Yes, Redline is Great from what I've read/heard.

I have a '08 SG with 90,000+ miles: Have always run Motul 7100 in the engine, Spectro Platinum 6 Speed Transmission Oil in the tranny (although I do have Baker DD7 that was installed at 43,000 miles) and HD Formula+ in the Primary. This seems to be the winning formula for my bike. Mz Bling ('06 Sporty Custom 80,000+ miles) run Motul 7100 in the engine and HD Formula+ in the primary/tranny hole and is the winning formula for her bike.

Congratulations on your new ride Jellymule.

My recommendations and what I run in my bikes are as follows:

Crankcase: full synthetic VTwin 20W50 engine oil
Tranny: full synthetic 75/140 transmission lubricant (75/90 for Northern climes that do not see high air temps)
Primary: fit-for-purpose wet clutch chaincase fluid (like HD Formula + or Spectro Heavy Duty Primary Chaincase Oil)

You can check out the engine oil poll here:
http://www.hdtimeline.com/threads/engine-oil-poll.1756/

This is the section of the site with lots of stuff on lubricants:
http://www.hdtimeline.com/forums/oil.24/

Cheers,

TQ