What Bike To Get

Discussion in 'Softail Models' started by sdsocal87, Apr 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sdsocal87

sdsocal87 Banned

I started riding on a yamaha 1100 virago, and very soon knew I wanted a Harley... I just dont know what to get. I like softail bikes...large..and something that looks classic...any suggestions

2. Sheepdogmarine

Sheepdogmarine Active Member

Welcome!

Just find a friendly dealer and start checking out all of the bikes, sitting on them and asking questions. All of the softails sit a little different so one may suit you better.

You can also rent them at some dealerships which may give you a day or so to check them out.

I settled on a used Fatboy and I love it.

Good Luck!

3. buddybr

buddybr Active Member

I would also try a Road King. Classic looks and though I've never ridden a softtail, from what I've read the touring bikes are a more comfortable ride.
    :USA

4. Bait

Bait Active Member

Fat Boy. Great ride, handles well. I went to one of the open houses and rode several before I decided.

5. Skratch

Skratch Active Member

Virago 1100...good bike. Rode a 95' for years until I stepped up and bought a HD.

For a softail I'm all about the Heritage. There might be some better riding bikes out there but for me there is no better classic looking bike in the HD line.

6. jonny oz

jonny oz Member

if you are considering a used bike, the softail springer classic is a great looking bike too.

7. TNfatboy

TNfatboy Member

i find the fatboy to be very comfortable that of course is why i have one i think they are so comfortable for me because it is the perfect size it is big enough to know its there but it handles and turns very excellent for a big cruiser. i have never rode a heritage but i have sit on them and it was comfortable. i did alot of reading:newsmile020: before i bought mine i would suggest the same to anyone else

8. sdsocal87

sdsocal87 Banned