free website stats program Warm Up procedure | Harley Davidson Forums

Warm Up procedure

barttoday

Got a question on warm up procedures. Used to, before I installed the 106 kit and S&S 551 cams, when it was cold outside (30's) I would crank the engine up and let her warm up a few minutes. The throttle was responsive and she ran at high idle while cold, but quickly warmed up. Now, since I have done the engine work, on cold start up, I don't touch the throttle. If I do it sputters and pops and she's a grumpy girl. Once warmed up runs like a scalded dog. Is my warm up enrichment set too fat?? Just curious to what the experts on this forum think? Thanks!!!

I'm no expert but depending on what kind of tuner you have, say with a supper tuner you can go in and make the warm up tables richer or leaner, then try it. What kind of tuner do you have?

I'm no expert but depending on what kind of tuner you have, say with a supper tuner you can go in and make the warm up tables richer or leaner, then try it. What kind of tuner do you have?

I'm running the SERT. Can I just adjust the cold engine enrichment w/o messing with the tuning?

Yes, just go to the warm up tables and make your adjustments, keep the orignal settings in a file or write the down, if you have a larger intake or higher ve I would thing it would need to be richer, but in all the tears I've been tuning I have never had to touch those tables, but it don't hurt to try it, you can always go back.

Yes, just go to the warm up tables and make your adjustments, keep the orignal settings in a file or write the down, if you have a larger intake or higher ve I would thing it would need to be richer, but in all the tears I've been tuning I have never had to touch those tables, but it don't hurt to try it, you can always go back.