free website stats program Ultra is too high | Harley Davidson Forums

Ultra is too high

huey1961

I have read suggestions posted by others discussing lowering a Ultra. I have done most of this and it's still too high for my short legs. Background: I am about 5'6" with an inseam of about 27-28, yeah, i have really short legs. I have been riding for about 15 years and have a FLHC Standard, and my dream bike, my 05 Heritage. My wife and I take extended bike vacations each year and decided to buy a Ultra. Found an used 09 that had already been lowered by a HD dealer and had a one of the stretch seats. At 10lbs of shock pressure I can reach fairly comfortably, but we need 50lbs due to our size and luggage. At 50lbs I am tip toeing, not a good thing. What else can I do affordably? I am thinking of just selling although I am now used to the ride, radio and cruise control. Any suggestions?

The guy who had my bike was about your size.
He added the Harley Reach seat (on all his bikes) and it worked for him on all his Ultras. He used to be the owner of the dealership so he knew what it took.

He took his bike all over the country.

I'm 6' and it was too close for me, I felt cramped so I bought a Mustang seat as I always have done for my bikes.

The Reach seat might be what would work for you.

I too have a short inseam...and ride a Ultra. I had the same problems you have when i first bought this bike from a guy over 6 ft .
My solution came in the form of a shock stud lowering kit from a machine shop on ebay selling them with instructions for lowering touring Harleys from 1"-3'' at about $40...all American solid machined steel..i raised the bike on my lift, disconnected the air line,disconnected the lower shock mounts (one at a time) replaced them with the new mounts, reattached the shocks and lowered the lift about 40 minutes later...i had effectively lowered the seat height by about 2 1/2" and no clearance issues...much better..but