free website stats program Twin cam upgrade | Harley Davidson Forums

Twin cam upgrade

argon_man

I have some questions that I would like some input from fellow gearheads. I just inspected my crankshaft runout because of course the phenolic cam chain tensioners on my 02 Dyna were worn out. The total runout is, believe it or not, +/- .0008. With it being this true I'm thinking that I'd like to go gear drive so I never have to visit the cam chest again. The items I intend to use are the Fueling hi output oil pump and cam support plate, Head Quarters Hurricane gear drive cams, Black Ops lifters and their easy install adjustable pushrods along with all the inner and outer bearing upgrades. With all this being said, because of what I do for a living I have access to cryogenic liquids, i.e. refrigerated liquid argon, nitrogen, oxygen, etc. I was thinking instead of purchasing all the tools to press bearings, cams and the like I would shrink fit everything utilizing the heat/freeze method. Does anyone have any input, pros or cons, using this method especially engineers or lab people? You know if Harley-Davidson was an auto maker there would have been a major recall for this design flaw.

Argon,

You might want to consider the Harley SE hydraulic cam chain tensioner and oil pump upgrade instead. Would bring your '02 88 engine up to the oil pumping standards of the 96, part 25284-11, and you'll " never have to visit the cam chest again."

No issues with gear driven cams, just my 2¢ as the chain is more tolerant of any future runout and would be less expensive. The only complaint I've heard on the gears is a few have excessive whine. Replacement of the inner bearings is an excellent idea, there is a self-help tip somewhere on the forum.