free website stats program Transmission cover | Harley Davidson Forums

Transmission cover

Biffy08

Hello all. I am new to this and am looking for a good experience and maybe a future of posting other threads, as I am new to any forum type arrangement. I was also looking for mechanical advice.

I cannot get the transmission cover back onto my 1997 Road King. I changed the clutch cable but cannot get the cover to want o go back on. I removed and inspected both of the ramps and balls and I think this is where my problem lies. There is a "propeller":dknow (as you can tell I am not a mechanic - just trying to be) that I believe rests inside the ramp? Is there a trick to getting this to align? Any light anyone can shed would be much appreciated!

Thanks and nice site!!!

First thing to check is that the 3 balls are in the ramps properly and not out of place. Position the "C" clip in the proper position that holds the ramps in.

Lightclutch.jpg

I cannot get the transmission cover back onto my 1997 Road King. I changed the clutch cable but cannot get the cover to want o go back on. I removed and inspected both of the ramps and balls and I think this is where my problem lies. There is a "propeller":dknow (as you can tell I am not a mechanic - just trying to be) that I believe rests inside the ramp? Is there a trick to getting this to align? Any light anyone can shed would be much appreciated!

If I understand what you have said above, you are trying to put the "propeller" thingie inside the ramp? If so, this is not right. That goes in the hole in the left (rear) shaft (main shaft) as you look at the tranny from the right. But, since you have replaced the cable, you should have the primary open (clutch cover or derby cover off) and the clutch adjuster (left push rod end) completely backed out, or the spring clip (retaining ring) removed and the adjuster (release plate) completely out of the clutch.