free website stats program Totally off topic Diesel!!! | Harley Davidson Forums

Totally off topic Diesel!!!

tubguy

I noticed there are alot of knowledgeable people that I`m hoping will have some answeres. I have a 95 ford e350 with the 7.3 powerstroke diesel and when i start it up and tak off it smokes like a pig for about the first 45 seconds then it cleans out and have no problems with it smoking. At the end of the day start up and head home no problem , it`s only after its been sitting over night.I had the computer changed but was wondering if it could possibly be the turbo.... I know this is the Harley Forum but who better to ask.

Thanks Tubguy:(

Although i have no knowledge of your particular engine if the turbo bearings were going there would be more smoke as the oil to lube the turbo bearing would pass into the exhaust
most diesel engines use extra fuel during the warm up period and cut it back as the temp goes up or you hit a particular revs

Brian

Smoking Black? This would be fuel related. Black smoke is unburned fuel. Glow plugs working? Does it start good or do you have to crank a little more than normal?
I work on the the GM diesels. I'll try to help.

Maybe a injector is leaking down. Check oil and see if diesel fuel is in oil. Might try some oil additive to clean injectors up 1st.