free website stats program Total Years of Riding POLL | Harley Davidson Forums

Total Years of Riding POLL

Mac2000HS

RULES FOR THIS POLL: Not more than a 3 year skip from first to last ride.

For this poll, motorcycles, motortrikes, motorbikes, and motor- scooters licensed for use on public roads, of any badge, count.

Please state total years of riding and feel free to comment.

I started riding on my 14th birthday May 8th 1956. On a '52Simplex Servi Cycle. A 1 cyl. 2 stroke, belt driven, centrifugal clutch bike with huge 24" (I think) wheels, Top speed on level ground, one up w/no wind was approx. 40 mph. Not sure, it had no speedo. I was involved in petition gathering sent to Nashville, Tennessee to pass a law that would allow anyone of age 14 to 16 to get a limited drivers license to operate a motor driven cycle of 5BHP or less. Could not travel more than 8 miles from your home and could not ride between the hours of 8pm to 6am. I thought I was in heaven. When I was 16 I got a KHK HD and thought I was in?????(HOG heaven)
Mac

I rode dirt bikes from the time I was 12 until I could get a license (17 in NJ). I then bought a street bike (Kawasaki 750 2 stroke - Scary fast bike) and rode until my daughter was born, I was 29. I took a few years off, then moved to TX 13 years ago and got the bug again. I am now on my 4th Harley, and 200K miles since the move to TX.

If you don't want to read all that boring stuff the answer is 30 years total, 25 on the street.

All the boring stuff is whats interesting about this poll txhawg.That and see if I'm not the one with the most years. If I am then I'll get worried. We don't stop doing things because we get old, we get old because we stop doing things.As long as I can throw my leg over, I'm gonna ride. Thanks for you reply. Mac