free website stats program To raise or not to raise, that is the question | Harley Davidson Forums

To raise or not to raise, that is the question

blackant

Hi All,

I'm still new to HDT and HD so I have a silly question about how handle bar height will affect my ride and steering.

I have been riding for about a year and probably started with a lot of bike for my first (a 2006 CVO Fat Boy). The first Harley I ever rode was a HD Heritage softtail, which I rented in Las Vegas for the weekend. I feel like that bike was a lot easier for me to control (i.e. take turns) compared to my Fat Boy. I am 6'1" and am wondering if raising the bars will make it easier to turn so I'm not reaching forward and down while I push (countersteer).

Any suggestions? I was thinking of perhaps test riding some bikes and find one that feels comfortable for me and then have my FB modified to fit like that. Am I way off here?

Thanks.

Hi All,

I'm still new to HDT and HD so I have a silly question about how handle bar height will affect my ride and steering.

I have been riding for about a year and probably started with a lot of bike for my first (a 2006 CVO Fat Boy). The first Harley I ever rode was a HD Heritage softtail, which I rented in Las Vegas for the weekend. I feel like that bike was a lot easier for me to control (i.e. take turns) compared to my Fat Boy. I am 6'1" and am wondering if raising the bars will make it easier to turn so I'm not reaching forward and down while I push (countersteer).

Any suggestions? I was thinking of perhaps test riding some bikes and find one that feels comfortable for me and then have my FB modified to fit like that. Am I way off here?

Thanks.