free website stats program The First Harley-Davidson I Rode | Harley Davidson Forums

The First Harley-Davidson I Rode

Randall K. Wilson

On reading a number of books on H-D History I thought back to the day I rode my first Harley. It belonged to a gent I worked with. I was a Millwright Apprentice at the time and he rode it to the Trade school we were attending back then. At that time I rode an affordable 1977 Honda 550K in line four cylinder.

However my co-worker friend rode in to school one night on a brand new 1978 XLCR Cafe Racer 1000 CC.

He offered me a chance to jump on and take it for a ride, which I did with much delight. Oh was it much different from what I was used to. Being somewhat concerned and showing respect for this gent I just rode it around the school parking lot (which was huge), and then we went on to class. Even back then I remember that the styling was much different than other H-D models.

Ironically with in a few months his XLCR was wrecked and I don't think the owner ever got it put back together...and that is a long story in itself.

At the time I rode this Harley I never thought of how this model would have somewhat of a distinct history years later. According to one source I have this model was only made in 1977, 1978, and 1979.

Did anyone on our Forum ever own a XLCR ? I just wonder how many of these models were made all total?

I wasn't even born then, but I'm always interested in Harley history, so rather then work I did a quick search and came up with only 3,123 of these were made in just 2 years for production, 77 and 78, no 79 from what I could tell or they killed it early in the year.

Here is the link to the info 1977 H-D XLCR - Classic Bikes - Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum. Very cool looking bike, wouldn't mind doing one of those as a project.