free website stats program The "danger" in cracking your pipes | Harley Davidson Forums

The "danger" in cracking your pipes

colnajoe

I am a local police officer and it's that time of the year that our community has us out enforcing illegal pipes and the reving, or cracking of the unbaffled pipes. In our town, one of our local bars that has the reputation of being a biker bar (one of my favorites), was built next to a retirement complex. After a warm sunny weekend, and 100's of bike rolling through, our city leaders get so many calls about the excessive noise coming from the modified exhaust on not just Harley's, but all bikes.

We have had training from our local HD dealer on how to ID aftermarket pipes without baffles, and look for baffles. (And they didn't like doing that!)

Our town passed a local ordinance designed for modified scooter exhaust, and the eccessive noise.

I'm not looking to put out the haters of this activity, but to give a heads up that many local towns and cities are passing similar laws. Fine for us is 75 bucks, and many we stop dont have the proper classification to ride, then the $$$ goes up!

I have a Road King, with slip-ons and I use common sense when going through towns. Cruise through quiet-like, no problem because the SOUND is the problem. Most of the problems I have seen is when a bike is rolling by a bunch of other bikes, and he/she cracks'um to impress or show-off. When that happens, the seniors get busy, and it trickles down to us beat cops to stop it. And most of us ride Harley's.........Enjoy the summer and I hope to see a lot of you out there, RIDING WITH ME, NOT STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME:newsmile055:

+1 on what colnajoe said, I too work in law enforcement and sometimes we bike owners can be our own worst problem. Use a little common sense when running in town and you won't have any problems. Best not to draw any attention to yourself by cracking the pipes.:42: