free website stats program Suspension Bottoming out 08 dyna super glide custom | Harley Davidson Forums

Suspension Bottoming out 08 dyna super glide custom

ChiroRick

Excuse me if I seem like a rookie...I just got this bike a month ago...not new to motorcycles, but I am new to Harleys.

I noticed last week while hitting a couple bumpy spots on the interstate that the forks seemed spongy and they were hitting kind of hard. Tech at HD said I should drain the forks and go with a heavier fork oil. Planned on doing that this weekend.

Took the wife for a ride yesterday, and the whole bike seemed to jar kind of hard when we hit any bumpy spots in the road...it was definetly abnormal. There are no leaks around the forks...and the front and rear suspension is completely stock. I weigh 185, and my wife is 140. So, we're not a couple of porkers putting too much weight on the bike.

Suggestions?

Heavier oil in the front will help, but will make it ride stiffer. I went with Progressive (brand) springs on my Dyna. Try adjusting the pre-load on the rear shocks. That helps a lot with a passenger. If you don't know how to adj. the pre-load, post back and we'll tell you. :)

Front fork oil does need to be changed every few years or sooner depending on the condition of the roads you travel. The rear suspension is I believe non rebuildable. Your correct that you and your wifes weight should not be any problem for the bike, but do you know how big the former owner was and if it was ridden mostly two up? Has the suspension been lowered or is it stock height?

Front fork oil does need to be changed every few years or sooner depending on the condition of the roads you travel. The rear suspension is I believe non rebuildable. Your correct that you and your wifes weight should not be any problem for the bike, but do you know how big the former owner was and if it was ridden mostly two up? Has the suspension been lowered or is it stock height?