free website stats program Stator Replacement | Harley Davidson Forums

Stator Replacement

JKJunkie

Hello everyone! How hard is it to change out the stator on a 2000 Ultra Classic? I am pretty good mechanical wise, I build custom Jeeps for everything from rock crawling to mall crawling.....I have just never worked on a bike since I am pretty new to it. Thanks in advance!

Overall, bikes are a lot easier to work on than cars and trucks.

Make sure you get the appropriate service manual for your year and model bike and then go for it. The experts on here are available pretty much 24/7 to help you out if you have questions or get in a jam.

Hello everyone! How hard is it to change out the stator on a 2000 Ultra Classic? I am pretty good mechanical wise, I build custom Jeeps for everything from rock crawling to mall crawling.....I have just never worked on a bike since I am pretty new to it. Thanks in advance!

First of all, why do you want to replace the STATOR? What makes you think this is a problem?

Not hard to do, but as suggested above, get the HD Factory Service manual covering your model and year.

In a nutshell:
  • Drain the primary fluid
  • Remove the primary cover
  • Remove the compensator nut, clutch basket nut (lefty) and chain tensioner
  • Remove compensator, clutch basket and chain
  • Remove the rotor
  • Remove the stator
  • Reinstall in reverse order
They have tools to remove the rotor with, but I just thread a couple of bolts into the threaded holes in the rotor and pull the rotor off with a couple of large crescent wrenches. And as a note, use NEW screws to secure the new stator.

TQ