free website stats program Sportster is quite a bike! | Harley Davidson Forums

Sportster is quite a bike!

johalber

hi,

Seeing in the Sportster a raw and elemental "pure motorcycling experience" like I was interested in, I bought a new 2007 XL 883L last week. I'm still getting into it, like how to handle its power with traditional motorcycle controls.

I hope to learn a lot more about what this bike can be, in terms of riding and use. I am thinking it needs cargo capacity, like saddle bags, more than anything else, so I can make runs to the store on it like I currently do with the Burgman and its trunk. But then maybe I need to reserve the Sportster for just getting out for riding and nothing else. I love it, it has so many metal parts! When I see riders coming the other way, too, I know I'm fully entitled to wave, for I am "paying the dues" that come with operating a "real motorcycle".

Johalber

hi johalber,

I got my first Harley a 2006 XL883 in July. I figure another 2-3 weeks and I will tip the 5,000 mile mark. In other words, ride the heck out of it! I ride mine to work, on errands, hell if my driveway were 20 feet longer I'd probably ride it to get the mail! I got throw-over saddlebags and a sissy bar and rack as well which helps with all the little errand runs. If you don't want a two-up seat they do make racks for solo seats too. If I have my druthers, and the weather cooperates, I 'll ride the Sporty every time.

Earsha

Hi- I'm a Sporty freak too, and as on all my other bikes, it's going to be toting a milk-crate on the back for grocery runs, etc. The detachable rack looks/feels plenty stout for the job, and it looks really good with the solo seat.

I keep the sissy bar bag tied on the back of mine all the time. You'd be amazed how much stuff I can cram in that bag.I try to plan as many of my errands on my Sporty as possible. Have fun and keep your shiny side up.