free website stats program Sportster 72 tank range | Harley Davidson Forums

Sportster 72 tank range

artisan

hi guys,long time no see as I have been riding Jap' rice burners for the last 4 years (the shame) but I have now come to my senses & realised what I really want is an H D.
So I'm going to my dealer on Saturday loaded with a deposit for a nice new Sportster either a Nightster or more likley a 72,the only concern I have for the 72 is how far a tank of gas will get me,anybody know ?
The dealer has both a matt black & a red flake 72 in stock & I can't decide which i prefer,my wife says the matt black is more manly but the red flake is so purdy,decisions decisions.

It's been awhile since I've done a full day on my sporty but I can get about 130 miles on a 3.2 gallon tank. But considering its an 883 and the way its jetted and piped you can probably do better. And congrats on the new ride

Sent from my DInc2 using Tapatalk 2

End of driveway & back...:s

JK - 2.1 gal tank @ ~50mpg should get you shade over 100 miles. Good luck w/the purchase & my vote is the purdy red flake...:D

I just traded in my '11 48 for a '12 SG a few weeks ago, so I can tell you that I have personally gotten 100 miles out of the peanut tank in STOCK form. I was sweating bullets but managed.

After I added a PC-V, slip-on's and a SE a/c it pulled hard but mileage was crippled. I was only ably to get about 75-80miles out of it.

The power-to-wieght blows my stock SG away and the flickabilty and handling of the sporty was awesome...

My buddy has the red metal flake 72 and its a nasty looking bike in the sun. That gets my vote...

Last edited by a moderator:
A buddy of mine has an 883 and he gets 120 MAX, like he better be pulling into the gas station at 121 miles. It's a fun bike but can be irritating for him on a long haul. If it was me, I'd find a way to get both!! But if I must choose, I'd go with the '72. More my style I guess. Have a blast and put up the pics when it's in the driveway.