free website stats program Speedometer Question | Harley Davidson Forums

Speedometer Question

1Qtswede

Hi guys, newbie here in the forum.... had a question I was hoping one of you fellas could help me with. I was on a ride the other day, and my speedometer quit working. Odo was still rollin with no problems, but the speedometer just quit. I am trying to learn the ropes to deal with it myself, so any help you can suggest, I would LOVE to hear! Thanks!

First, welcome to the forum!

Second, if you're going to try to do any work yourself, you've got to get ahold of the service manual for your bike. If the dealer doesn't have it you may have to resort to Ebay or Amazon or Craig's List.

Sorry I can't help you more but there's some real mechanically minded folks on here who will jump in very shortly.

In the mean time, you can honestly answer "no" when a cop asks you, "Do you know how fast you were going?"

Welcome to the forums...

off the top of my head, no. but i will be reading my service manual tomorrow and if i come across an answer ill let you know.

My good lord Glider your like Albert Freakin Einstein. Never ceases to amaze me.

BTW: Welcome to the forum.

I've already got the Clymer service, repair & maintence manuel, but it just doesn't cover anything more than the electrical side of things, I"m wondering if it's a cable issue... I've ordered another manuel, but I'm just itchin' to get it goin.....probably be another week or two before the book comes in...dangit.

If the cable is intact and turning and the gear drive is OK and the ODO is turning, it's more than likely the speedo head or the ODO wouldn't work either.

Not being a factory trained HD mechanic, I'm going to base this answer on the information presented so far in this thread.

I am guessing that in 1994, the speedometer is fed by a cable that is connected to a gear somewhere in the drive mechanism, whether it's to the front wheel (common in motorcycles) or elsewhere.