free website stats program Shaking 2007 RKC ???? | Harley Davidson Forums

Shaking 2007 RKC ????

jerrybombard

Hi guys and girls,
I’m new to my 2007 RKC and to HD in general. The bike is stock and has a total of ~6100 mi, 1100 or so by me. I’ve been riding for ~40 years (YIKES !!) and currently have a small stable of 6 bikes, so I’m not totally new.
I’ve been reading all the great stuff here about this particular bike and HD in general, and for this bike, I’ve learned to run ONLY 93 octane and not to lug the engine (never a good idea) to avoid the pinging. I think I’ll get some XIED’s from Nightrider to help with that.
Now to my problem:
Yesterday, very hot down here in south Fl, went for a 100 mi or so ride, mostly 50 – 60 mph on pretty much empty roads. Everything seemed normal, bike rode as it always had. UNTIL I had to go over a bridge for the intercoastal, about 50 feet up. The bike started to shake like nobodies business on the uphill, seemed like the engine was solid mounted, not rubber. It was particularly bad thru the footboards. It has never felt like this before. Everything seemed to be a’shaking. I hoped on I95 south to home, about 60mi, and the bike seemed to still have a “buzz” to it not felt before. By then I’m sure I was hyper sensitive to it, but at 75 mph, it seemed to calm down some. This morning, at 81 degrees, I rode to work, at 60 mph, again probably hyper sensitive to the vibes, but I swear this bike didn’t ride like this yesterday morning. Since I got this bike, I was amazed at how smooth it rode, now that seems to be gone.