free website stats program SE or Arlen Ness Stage 1 ??? | Harley Davidson Forums

SE or Arlen Ness Stage 1 ???

Dave T

I'm new to this thread stuff so bare with me (already lost the whole thing once). I have an 09 SG with 1400 miles and recently added B&E Performance 2.25" Superflow slip on mufflers. They recommend either a stage 1 or Power Commander with these mufflers. I was planning on having the dealer put on a SE stage 1 when they do the 1000 mile service but I found that the Arlen Ness stage 1 doesn't use rubber hoses that can rot over time. Is this a big deal or just a selling point? Does anybody have experience comparing these stage 1's? Is it a fairly simple install or should it be left to a dealer? Also Power Commander is not supporting the PCIII on 09's and is coming out with a PCV in about a month for the 09's. Will I need to remap for the stage 1 or can I wait until the new PC comes out (probably won't be riding much anyway with the winter weather here in MO) Thanks

An air cleaner is so easy to change a caveman could do it.:D I don't think there's real big difference in performance between and Arlen Ness and S.E.. They both do the same job I think. As far as adding a tuner that's up to you, I would say go ahead and put the on the air cleaner now if your not gonna be riding much. I don't know if I'd trust the power commander as soon as it hits the market, I heard they had some problem on the 08's I'd go with the TFI for something simple and proven, or if you want to go all out go with the ThunderMax. It seems like a lot of money up front but when you figure in the cost of a Dyno with the cost of a race tuner it's about the same price. It's also very user friendly.:D